Skip to main content
Contact Info
Phone: +34 985102746
Yaisel Borrell
Coordinator University of Oviedo - UniOvi

Yaisel Juan Borrell Pichs (DNI 71805696H) holds a Degree in Biochemistry from the University of Havana, Cuba, and he was the Best Graduate of the Faculty of Biology in 1996. He is PhD Doctor from the University of Oviedo (2002) (AECI Grant 1998-2002) with Cum laude and Extraordinary Doctorate Award of the University of Oviedo. He has been a University Professor for a period of more than 15 years (1996-2004 / 2009-2019).

At the University of Oviedo he was Prof. Ayudante Doctor (2011-2016) and Prof. Contratado Doctor (i) until 2018. He is currently Professor (Prof. Titular, 10/07/2018) in the area of Genetics at the University of Oviedo. He has taught 2300 teaching hours and has successfully supervised 41 works that include Bachelor's Thesis, Final Degree Projects, Master's Thesis and 6 Doctorates (Outstanding/Cum laude). He is currently the Coordinator of the Masters in Marine Conservation and the Erasmus mundus IMBRSea Master at the University of Oviedo. He is part of the staff of the of the Natural Resources Classroom Research Group (ARENA) (2013-), Marine Observatory of Asturias (OMA), Biotechnological Institute of Asturias (IUBA) and member and Spanish Society of Genetics (SEG). Borrell’s Main Research Lines included Conservation, Fisheries, Aquaculture and Biological Invasions. He has published 72 scientific articles (54 SCI referenced and another 18 in journals with ISSN or books with ISBN). His articles have been cited 624 times (h index = 16) (Source Scopus / WOS). He has participated in 25 Research Projects (2 as PI) and 9 Contracts with public and private entities (5 as PI) using Genetics for the conservation and management of species and biodiversity. He already presented 94 research papers to Congresses. It has 2 recognized sections (Sexenios) of Research (1997-2013) and three sections of Teaching (1996-2017). He holds the Best Young Professor/Researcher at the Annual Awards of the University of Havana in 2003, The 2013 Academy of Sciences of Cuba Award and the 2016 Research Group Nomination for the European Foundation Award for Responsible Research and Innovation.